Quick Question: Can You Share a Granola Bar Recipe?

We go through quite a few granola bars in our house, and even though I always buy them on sale and with coupons, they do add up. In addition, they typically contain ingredients other than basic, healthy granola bar components, like high fructose corn syrup and preservatives. As a result, I’ve been experimenting with different recipes so I can make them at home. I looking for  bars that are a little more on the crunchy side (do not need to be refrigerated to cut them), and do not require a lot of exotic ingredients.

Do you have a recipe that you like?

2 thoughts on “Quick Question: Can You Share a Granola Bar Recipe?

  1. Patricia says:

    Granola Bars 3/4 cup brown sugar 1/2 cup sugar 1/2 cup soft margarine 2 T. honey 1/2 t. vanilla 1 egg 1 cup plain flour 1/4 t. salt 1/2 t. baking soda 1 1/2 cups oatmeal 1 1/4 cups Rice Krispies, bran flakes, or corn flakes. In a large bowl cream sugars and margarine. Add honey, vanilla, and egg. Mix. Blend in flour, baking soda and salt. ( add additional ingredients at this time like 1 cup chocolate chips, butterscotch chips or, coconut, 1/2 cup nuts. raisins, dried apples, or peanut butter, or sunflower seeds) Press into a 9X13 pan and bake 350 for 20 minutes. Be careful not to over bake and cut into squares when warm. I have left out the honey and it tuned out fine. My sister left out the egg and hers turned out fine I only use a little over 1 cup of the additional ingredients in each batch, I really don’t measure just toss in what I have that I have gotten a good price on. For example, I’ll use chocolate chips and coconut, then butterscotch and coconut, then raisins and dried apples and maybe a little cinnamon. This is really a universal recipe. I use cheap fold over baggies and store these in the cabinet to use for lunches. My family loves these.

Leave a Reply - Please be courteous!

