Last Week’s Frugal Highs

I hope you’re enjoying a wonderful Memorial Day weekend, while taking time to remember those who fought for the freedom and rights we enjoy as Americans.

Here are last week’s frugal highs:

  1. Received my first payment for items sold through my Amazon store.
  2. Updated my trash/recycling account so the payments come out of my bank account, rather than being charged to my credit card.
  3. Read The Complete Cheapskate, by Mary Hunt, and How to Get Out of Debt, Stay Out of Debt, and Live Prosperously, by Jerrold Mundis (from the library, of course!).
  4. Updated the credit card on my EZ Pass account from the one I’m paying off first, to another, lower-interest one. (EZ Pass only allows payment via credit card.)
  5. Cashed in some points in my MyPoints account for a $10 Home Depot gift card. We’ll use this the next time we have to buy salt for our water softener.
  6. Purchased a mattress/box spring set for our daughter during a Memorial Day weekend sale, at the store with the best prices in our area, 40 minutes from our home. Avoided the $89 delivery fee by strapping them to the roof of our car and driving home VERY slowly. (I nearly needed a Xanax for this last part of the trip!)
  7. Dropped some items for sale off at a local consignment store, and picked up a $58 payment for previously sold items.
3 thoughts on “Last Week’s Frugal Highs

  1. Looks like you had some pretty decent highs! I hate the cost of shipping on furniture. As a matter of fact, If I’m going to buy something that doesn’t fit in my car, I usually rent a small uhaul truck and save 50 or 60 bucks!

    • Thanks, Josh! That’s a good strategy for saving on delivery. The mattress and box spring were okay on top of the car, but I don’t think we could’ve gotten away with that with most other pieces of furniture!

  2. hollyatclubthrifty says:

    Sweet- great job! I have a few things that I need to consign, but haven’t found the time. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply - Please be courteous!

